Piano Compositions William Wieland
Clavierbüchlein für Kleiner Johann (2021) — To understand the genesis of this set of short piano pieces, please read the program notes for the following two compositions, “Dances on Sol–Fi” and “Fantasy on ABE”. Our oldest son is John. I was unable to spell his name with pitches so I took a different approach. When he was little, I called him “Kleiner Johann” (little John) because I try to speak only German to our kids. Back in the 18th century, J.S. Bach created a collection of simple pieces entitled Clavierbüchlein für Anna Magdalena Bach to help his wife learn to play the harpsichord. My Clavierbüchlein für Kleiner Johann is also a collection of simple keyboard pieces.
 1. Contented Pacing 1
 2. Sanctus
 3. Contented Pacing 2
 4. Agnus Dei
 5. Contented Pacing 3
When John is studying or thinking hard, he paces. The “Sanctus” and “Agnus Dei” are from a 3-part Mass I wrote for men’s choir. John enjoys singing in men’s choirs.
Dances on Sol–Fi (2021) was composed for my daughter Sophie. She enjoys playing piano and dancing.  PrimoSecondo
NSU Faculty Showcase Recital (Sept. 16, 2021) — Pianists Wieland and Chris Stanichar perform with dancers John Kersten and Brigette Weisenburger.
Fantasy on ABE (2019) is mostly a set of short variations on the notes A, B, and E played with few pauses. I composed this piece when my youngest son, Abraham, was a teenager. The mood changes are frequent and occur in rapid succession from playful to sober, calm to frenetic, and mysterious to crystal clear. The last two pages are filled with fast, intricate patterns that are easier to perform than they sound. For 5 years, Abe and I attended the International Music Camp, piano session. He was a camper and I was a teacher. I premiered this piece at the camp. Abe was in the audience but did not know what I was about to perform at the faculty recital.
Orpheus and Eurydice (2013)
 • Bliss
 •Eurydice's DeathProfound Sorrow (first two thirds, i.e. bars 1–56)
 •Descent to the Underworld
 •The River Styx (incomplete portion of Hades)
 •Orpheus's Music, pp. 1 & 2   Orpheus's Music, p. 3
 •Eurydice VanishesProfound Sorrow (the first and last thirds, i.e. bars 1–28 and bars 57–end)
The first movement, Bliss, is a piano adaptation of an overture composed in 2009 for the play eurydice by Sarah Ruhl. It was originally scored for flute, clarinet, alto sax, horn, trumpet, trombone, tuba and piano.
Dance in E flat major (2007) is a piano transcription of a wedding dance composed for Shakespeare's As You Like It. It was originally scored for flute, clarinet, piano and cello.
Toccata—sospeso (2007) is a revision of Two Movements (1994). It is constructed of cross rhythms and 013 sets. Audio Excerpt (MIDI file)
Phrygian Fantasy (1983) won a student competition which encouraged me to consider composition and theory as career choices. It was an assignment for class piano when I was a freshman music major. Phrygian Fantasy won the 1983 North Dakota Music Teachers Association Collegiate Composition Contest and the 1983 Music Teachers National Association West Central Division Collegiate Composition Contest.